ADvancing States Announces Second Class for the Next Gen HCBS Leaders Program

ARLINGTON, VA – ADvancing States is pleased to announce the members of the next class for the Next Gen HCBS Leaders Program.  The Next Gen HCBS Leaders Program offers training, support, and mentoring to selected participants to support their growth as a state HCBS leader.  Each member will also receive all-expenses-paid scholarships to the 2023 ADvancing States Spring Meeting and the 2023 HCBS Conference. United Healthcare was the inaugural sponsor of the Next Gen HCBS Leaders Program. The second-year cohort is generously supported once again by United Healthcare, also joined this year with support from Molina Healthcare.

The need for this program was originally identified by the ADvancing States Board of Directors, members of the MLTSS Institute Advisory Council and former state LTSS leaders which comprise the Alumni Leadership Network.  Faced with increasing responsibilities, reduced staff and a wave of retirements, state agencies need support for leaders to continue to provide effective and high-quality HCBS to their citizens.

Martha Roherty, ADvancing States Executive Director, believes identifying and training the next generation of HCBS leaders is imperative.  “While other programs develop Medicaid leaders, the skills and knowledge necessary to operate an HCBS program are unique.  The combination of mentorship from current and former HCBS leaders as well as exposure to national policies and practices will be invaluable.”

The 2023 class includes:

  • Riyyah James – Alabama Medicaid Agency
  • Ellen Hackenmueller – Alaska Division of Senior and Disabilities Services
  • Melissa Arzabal – Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System
  • Sarah Hoerle – Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing
  • Ivonne Pantoja – Connecticut Department of Developmental Services
  • Barbara “Babs” Hall – Georgia Department of Human Services Division of Aging Services
  • DeNae Gailey – Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
  • Pamela Winsel – Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services
  • Seth Kilber – Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services
  • Dayva Briand – Massachusetts Executive Office of Health and Human Services
  • Mercedes Van Dyke – Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
  • Adrienne Navarro – Nevada Aging and Disability Services Division
  • Kayla Trzpuc – North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services
  • Carmen Clutter – Ohio Department of Aging
  • Jennifer Hale – Pennsylvania Department of Human Services
  • Clair Benitez – Texas Health and Human Services
  • Heather Larsen Mossinger – Utah Department of Health and Human Services
  • Kelsey Melah – Wisconsin Department of Health Services

Members of the Next Gen HCBS Leaders Program will receive education throughout 2023 on a wide variety of leadership and HCBS topics including building a strategic vision, Federal public policy, budgeting and finance, quality and outcomes management and external stakeholder engagement.

News date: 
Tuesday, March 7, 2023